Blind Pig Records
Help | My Account | View Cart | Checkout
Just A Wish Away... Just A Wish Away... (6/24/2014) Add To Cart
- Deanna Bogart

"Deanna Bogart has become one of the greatest musicians and songwriters working in America today. Bogart is the real deal; it is not just her playing, but her songwriting that has matured to the point of greatness. All of this adds up to Just A Wish Away.....being one of the best albums of 2014."

"Deanna offers up a very solid set via this fourth Blind Pig effort, with fine songs, an excellent, well-pedigreed band of players, the sort of energy that has populated her work for years and the sort of authentic enthusiasm for music that is absolutely contagious."  -

"With her spellbinding piano chops, thoughtful songwriting and rich, sultry voice, Deanna Bogart brims with talent and creativity." - Elmore 

"A flavorful musical gumbo that's a taste of the artist at the height of her powers. With seamless, electic style to spare. Just a Wish a truly lovely record, full of the fine playing, singing, and songwriting that she is known for."- Living Blues

"A compelling set from an inventive, intriguing artist."-Hittin' the Note

Deanna Bogart, the award-winning, multi-instrumentalist known for her vast musical range, broadens her horizons even more on "Just A Wish Away ..." Her newest Blind Pig Records release finds Deanna in territory that is at once unfamiliar and intriguing, intimate and provocative. She invites us on her own personal and musical transitional journey that's taken her in a single year from the Chesapeake Bay to Nashville, and from the high desert of Southern California to deep in the Louisiana bayou, where this CD was recorded.

"Just A Wish Away ..." features some of Deanna's strongest songwriting to date, artfully evoking the excitement of new possibilities tinged at times with a hint of wistful melancholy at what is left behind. From the locomotion of "If It's Gonna Be Like This" to the tender and surprising "Back and Forth Kid" to the sultry, horn-driven "Collarbone," Bogart's signature cut-above songwriting demonstrates the diverse dialects of her musical fluency.

She and producer Joe Michaels created a band of world class players - Marty Rifkin (Bruce Springsteen), Bonerama Horns (Harry Connick Jr.), Charlie Wooton (Royal Southern Brotherhood), Scott Ambush (Spyro Gyra), Cris Jacobs (The Bridge), Terrence Houston (George Porter), Derwin "Big D" Perkins (Jon Cleary), and more. Together they produce a swinging, funky groove - a diverse set of ensembles well-suited to the genre defying breadth of Deanna's songs.

Here's an introduction to the Deanna Bogart Band, from the documentary "Everybody Has A Story:"



  1. If It’s Gonna Be Like This
  2. Fine By Me Good Bayou (Sample)
  3. If You Have Crying Eyes
  4. Back And Forth Kid (Sample)
  5. Collarbone (Sample)
  6. Tightrope
  7. What Is Love Supposed To Do (Sample)
  8. Maybe I Won’t (Sample)
  9. Conversing With Lincoln (Sample)
  10. Hot Fun In The Summertime
  11. Bye Bye Blackbird
Pianoland Pianoland (CD)
Buy Now
More Info
Real Time Real Time (CD)
Buy Now
More Info
Out To Get You Out To Get You (CD)
Buy Now
More Info

Blind Pig Store | Blind Pig Artists | Blind Pig On Tour | Blind Pig Downloads
©2017 Blind Pig Records, a division of Whole Hog, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.
Hosting and Design by 305 Spin