Blind Pig Records
Help | My Account | View Cart | Checkout
Heaven Heaven (4/17/2012) Add To Cart
- Pinetop Perkins

"Heaven is a beautiful testament to Perkins' legacy...a fitting capstone to the career of one of the greatest blues pianists of his generation."  Living Blues

Asplendidly recorded collection of previously unreleased songs by the legendary pianist. Perkins is in fine voice and blessed by especially nimble fingers on the keys throughout the recording."
- Blues Revue

At age 73, his brambly voice was strong and full of feeling, his piano playing rippling and assured. Best of all, though, is the opportunity to hear the unvarnished Pine, at the peak of his powers." -Jazziz

Pinetop Perkins was a three time Grammy Award winner and the beloved dean of blues piano players when he passed away last year, just four months shy of his 98th birthday. It is unquestionably a little slice of heaven for us to hear Pinetop once again on this previously unreleased after-hours set of masterful music.

Heaven captures a beautifully intimate 1986 studio performance by Pinetop when he was "only" seventy three, and still at the peak of his powers.  He performs solo on all but four tracks. The self-taught master pianist is in magnificent form, delivering thundering chords and glissandos, rolled chords, trilled notes, complex metrical substitutions, sly musical quotes - and of course his trademark lightly swinging boogie woogie.  His strong, rough-edged voice conveys an authority that is complemented by a subtle playfulness and vulnerability.   On this album, his vocals are supplemented by recently-recorded contributions from Willie "Big Eyes" Smith on "Sitting On Top of the World" (believed to be Smith's last recording) and Otis Clay, who captures the sweet agony of "Since I Fell For You."
In memory of the late Pinetop Perkins, we urge you to consider supporting the Pinetop Perkins Foundation (
1.   44 Blues  (sample)
2.   4 O'Clock In The Morning
3.   Relaxin' (sample)
4.   Sitting On Top Of The World (sample)
5.   Just Keep On Drinking
6.   Since I Fell For You
7.   Pinetop's Boogie Woogie 
8.   Ida B   (sample)
9.   Sweet Home Chicago (sample)
10. Pinetop's Blues (sample)
11. Willow Weep For Me
12. That's All Right
Heaven Heaven (LP)
Buy Now
More Info
After Hours After Hours (CD)
Buy Now
More Info

Blind Pig Store | Blind Pig Artists | Blind Pig On Tour | Blind Pig Downloads
©2017 Blind Pig Records, a division of Whole Hog, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.
Hosting and Design by 305 Spin