Blind Pig Records
Help | My Account | View Cart | Checkout
Born To Be Wilder Born To Be Wilder (1/29/2008) Add To Cart
- Webb Wilder

Born To Be Wilder (recorded live at WorkPlay in Birmingham, Alabama) captures the full flavor of Nashville-based roots rocker Wilder's live performances: booming baritone vocal delivery, blazing guitar licks, and a punchy rhythm section, overlaid with a healthy dose of his quirky humor.

Wilder has been called "a kind of Tom Petty for the trailer set" (San Francisco Chronicle), though he describes his style thus: "We play both kinds of music, Rock AND Roll."

"Beneath a broad-brimmed hat and a pair of nerdy-looking specs stands one of the toughest roots rockers of any era. On this scorching live CD — originally part of a DVD set — Wilder loads up on fan favorites like "Human Cannonball," "One Taste of the Bait," and "Poolside." Born To Be Wilder also serves as an excellent intro to Wilder's vast catalog, which he's been steadily working at for more than two decades now. His distinctive baritone and deadpan stage patter guide the way, while the Beatnecks rock with the economy of an old-time country band. Smokin' leads last just long enough, and the three guitarists burn through the songs without any pileups. As Wilder says, "Make yourself at home, have a snow cone, and enjoy the show." - Cleveland Scene

"Combines some fairly well-worn Wilder chestnuts with well-chosen covers and a few effortless-sounding ditties that are so good they make you wonder why he's always remained in cultdom." - USA Today

"Webb Wilder's new CD, and first release for Blind Pig, highlights the musical attributes that make him appealing and unique. While occasionally venturing in and out of rockabilly, country, blues and R&B, Wilder & The Beatnecks are primarily a crack rock and roll unit, whose music is raw, yet inventive, sophisticated, but never pedantic." - American Songwriter

"Born To Be Wilder stands out with a fun approach to rollicking, roadhouse music all with a blues undertone. It's not purely blues, but it is purely enjoyable." - Living Blues

"A generous helping of fresh, tasty rock 'n' roll and one that will leave the listener asking for seconds." - Elmore


1. Tough It Out (sample)
2. Stay Out Of Automobiles
3. Baby Please Don't Go (sample)
4. You Might Be Lonely For A Reason
5. One Taste Of The Bait
6. Human Cannonball (sample)
7. If You Were Looking For A Fool
8. Sputnik
9. Big Time (sample)
10. No Great Shakes (sample)
11. Miss Missy From Ol' Hong Kong
12. Poolside
13. How Long Can She Last
14. Louisiana Hannah
15. I Just Had To Laugh (sample)

More Like Me More Like Me (CD)
Buy Now
More Info

Blind Pig Store | Blind Pig Artists | Blind Pig On Tour | Blind Pig Downloads
©2015 Blind Pig Records, a division of Whole Hog, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.
Hosting and Design by 305 Spin